# 2024 Sigma Xi Research Award Winners Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter

## FACULTY AWARDS

#### Sustained Research Award: (with a certificate, plaque and \$6,000)

• Facundo Fernandez, Regents' and Vasser-Wooley Professor, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Committee: Srinivas Garimella (ME), Chair; Hang Lu (COE), Dimitri N. Mavris (AE), Patricia Mokhtarian (CEE), Cheng Zhu (BME)

**Best Paper Award:** (with a certificate, plaque and \$3,000 each)

- Christopher Rozell, Julian T. Hightower Chaired Professor, and Dr. Sankaraleengam Alagapan, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Shu Jia, Associate Professor, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering

### Committee: Xing Xie (CEE), Chair; Itamar Kimchi (Phys), Seung Woo Lee (ME)

Young Faculty Award: (with a certificate, plaque and \$3,000 each)

- Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena, Assistant Professor, School of Materials Science and Engineering
- Yue Chen, Assistant Professor, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering

Committee: Naresh Thadhani (MSE), Chair; Saad Bhamla (ChBE), Yao Xie (ISyE), Kyriakos Vamvoudakis (AE)

# STUDENT AWARDS

Best Ph.D. Thesis: (with a certificate, plaque and \$1,000 each)

- Benjamin Shipley, School of Biological Sciences, Advisor: Jenny McGuire
- Xinyi Wang, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Advisor: Patricia Mokhtarian
- Kejun Yin, School of Chemistry & Biochemistry, Advisor: Ronghu Wu
- Mehrdad Ghadiri, School of Computer Science, Advisor: Santosh Vempala
- Mohammadreza Zandehshahvar, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Advisor: Ali Adibi
- Saeed Rashidi, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Advisor: Tushar Krishna
- Andreas Robertson, School of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Surya Kalidindi
- Matthew Hughes, School of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Srinivas Garimella
- Rishi Gurnani, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Advisor: Rampi Ramprasad
- Stephanie Sandoval, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Advisor: Matthew McDowell

### Committee: Shuman Xia (ME), Chair; Aditya Kumar (CEE), Bolei Deng (AE), Mark Losego (MSE), Mark Styczynski (ChBE), Marta Hatzell (ME)

Best M.S. Thesis: (with a certificate, plaque and \$500 each)

- Rushil Pingali, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Sourabh K. Saha
- Tarun Golla, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, Advisor: Cristina Riso

#### Committee: Antonia Antoniou (ME), Chair; Ryan Sherman (CEE)

Best Undergraduate Research: (with a certificate, plaque and \$250 each)

• Alexandra Rodriguez Dalmau, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Advisor: Nisha Botchwey, Meaghan McSorley